r I e (2024)

by V.A.

“r | e” used to be the logo of the re:flexions sound-art festival, organised anually by attenuation circuit at their Augsburg homebase from 2016 to 2021. Every edition of the festival was accompanied by a CD compilation. The idea behind the festival was to bring together experimental musicians from all sorts of genres who had never collaborated before to create new material for the CD – and to play a live set at the festival. The festival no longer exists, but “r | e” continues as a compilation series that features exclusive new compositions.

This new edition of “r | e” is yet another powerful expression of the collaborative spirit of the international experimental underground network. With more trio than duo collaborations, the album also features what is probably the widest range of acoustic instruments – including trombone and other brass, accordion, mbira, assorted percussion, a bicycle bell, and whispering, groaning voices – on any “r | e” CD so far (or at any edition of the re:flexions sound-art festival, for that matter). Throughout the first half of the album, ritualistic, quasi-”tribal” rhythms make themselves heard, which underscore the feel that we are listening to a complex ecosystem of sounds akin to a musical rainforest, only to end in a massive distorted “throw-back” (or “throw-up”, as the title of the last track has it) into post-industrial urban desolation.

More instalments of the series are in preparation, or open for submission via emerge.bandcamp.com.

File under: sound art, ambient

ACU 1046

10" Vinyl in cardboard sleeve

Released in 2024

limited to 100 copies

price: 7.00 EUR (excl. postage)

01. fourthousandblackbirds I Chelidon Frame I Terbeschikkingstelling - Non au dégriffage I Atarassia I Bombardonmentsouplesse 11:58
02. Zumaia I Lärmschutz I Teth Sin - 0412W diachronic(ally) a-typical 12:45
03. Siegfried Kärcher I {AN} EeL I DzEta - untitled 12:39
04. Anja Kreysing I Philippe Neau I Hans Castrup - noDarp 16:26
05. Wilfried Hanrath I Jacob Audrey Taves - 20th Century Throw-Up 12:29

logo by Heinz Stempfle
photo and design by Dan Penschuck (feindesign.de)

Also available here: http://www.discogs.com/seller/dependenz?sort=price&sort_order=asc&q=attenuation+circuit&st

V.A. r I e (2024) cover front
V.A. r I e (2024) cover back
V.A. r I e (2024) Inlay
powered by the brezenstudio engine